For Immediate Release
Media Contact:
Brad Wills
Wills & Associates Public Relations

Tech Council of Maryland Announces Finalists for 26th Annual Industry Awards

Winners to be Revealed May 15 at Awards Celebration Gala

Rockville, Md. – (April 2, 2014)The Tech Council of Maryland (TCM), Maryland’s largest technology trade association for life science and technology, today announced the finalists for its 26th Annual Industry Awards. Winners will be revealed at a celebration on May 15 at the Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center.

“Our annual celebration is a phenomenal event, where our community can come together to recognize individuals and companies in the technology and life science industries that drive our state’s economy,” said Phil Schiff, TCM’s CEO. “Our finalists exemplify the spirit that propels innovation and makes Maryland a leader in tech sector nationwide.”

Finalists for the 2014 TCM Tech Awards are:

Executive of the Year

  • Ahmed Ali, President, TISTA Science and Technology Corporation
  • Sunny Bajaj, Founder, President and CEO, Digital Management, Inc. (DMI)
  • Al Espinoza, CEO, Innotion Enterprises, Inc.
  • Kathleen Flanagan, President and CEO, Abt Associates
  • Michael Richman, President and CEO, Amplimmune
  • Michael Tessler, Co-Founder and CEO, BroadSoft

Chief Financial Officer of the Year

  • Linda Chang, CFO, PharmAthene
  • Cary Claiborne, CFO, Sucampo Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
  • Andrew Gabor, Vice President of Finance, Administration, Tenable Network Security
  • Brian Hahn, CFO, GlycoMimetics
  • Robert Latchford, CFO, Optoro

Chief Information Officer/Chief Technology Officer of the Year

  • James Kenigsberg, CTO, 2U Inc.
  • Sarah Naqvi, CIO, HMS Host
  • Mark Pietrasanta, CTO, Aquilent
  • Mark Wright, CIO, Cetrom Information Technology, Inc.

Life Science Firm of the Year

  • Amplimmune
  • Gliknik Inc.
  • Sanaria, Inc.
  • Sucampo Pharmaceuticals, Inc.

Technology Firm of the Year

  • 2U Inc.
  • Acumen Solutions
  • American Technology Services, Inc. (ATS)
  • Digital Management, Inc. (DMI)
  • Mindgrub
  • Notable Solutions

Government Contracting Firm of the Year

  • Abt Associates
  • Aquilent
  • Social Solutions Global, Inc.
  • TISTA Science and Technology Corporation
  • TurningPoint Global Solutions
  • VariQ Corporation

Emerging Firm of the Year

  • KoolSpan
  • Optensity
  • Optoro
  • SocialRadar
  • WebMechanix
TCM’s annual celebration will begin with a cocktail hour, followed by dinner, entertainment by comedian and WJFK sports talk show host Danny Rouhier, and the awards ceremony. For more information or to purchase tickets, visit the TCM website.

About the Tech Council of Maryland

The Tech Council of Maryland (TCM) is the largest technology trade group serving the advanced technology and biotechnology communities of Maryland. TCM’s mission is to advocate for the interests of the technology community, further the role of technology in the Maryland economy, and nurture an environment where technology companies can collaborate, grow and succeed. For more information, visit