For Immediate Release
Media Contact:
Brad Wills
Wills & Associates Public Relations

Tech Council of Maryland to Honor Augustine, Hockmeyer and Kirwan with Lifetime Achievement Awards

Annual Gala to Take Place February 19 in Bethesda

Rockville, Md. – (November 20, 2014) – (TCM), Maryland’s largest technology trade association for life science and technology, today announced that it will honor former Lockheed Martin Corporation Chairman and CEO Norman Augustine, MedImmune, Inc. Founder Dr. Wayne Hockmeyer and University System of Maryland Chancellor William Kirwan with its 2015 Lifetime Achievement Awards.  The awards will be presented during TCM’s Lifetime Achievement Gala, February 19, 2015.

“Our honorees for 2015 have had a tremendous positive impact on so many individuals and organizations across the state of Maryland,” said Phil Schiff, TCM’s CEO. “And, through their years of dedication and hard work, they also have played important roles globally, through job creation, educating our youth and innovations that make people healthier.”

TCM’s Lifetime Achievement Award is given each year to Marylanders who have gone above and beyond to serve the technology and life science community over the course of their careers. Recipients display commitment and leadership both in the field and within their organization, fostering new ideas and encouraging creativity. The recipients also demonstrate generosity and compassion, making sure their work benefits others. This year, TCM expanded its award categories and are proud to recognize three outstanding individuals in the fields of technology, life science, and education.

About the 2015 Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients

  • Norman R. Augustine is the retired chairman and CEO of the Lockheed Martin Corporation, the nation’s largest defense contractor, and a former under secretary of the Army. Augustine currently serves as a member of the President's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology and the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Advisory Council. He also chaired a panel at the National Academy of Sciences (NAS) that produced the report entitled, “Rising Above the Gathering Storm: Energizing and Employing America for a Brighter Economic Future,” which recommended ways to strengthen research and education in science and technology.
  • Dr. Wayne T. Hockmeyer is the of founder MedImmune, Inc., a healthcare company based in Gaithersburg, Md., that is focused on infectious diseases, cancer and inflammatory diseases. He served as the company’s chairman and/or CEO of MedImmune from 1988 to 2007. Prior to that, he was vice president of laboratory research and product development at Praxis Biologics Inc. and chief of the Department of Immunology at Walter Reed Army Institute of Research. Dr. Hockmeyer currently serves on the Board of Directors of Baxter, GenVec Inc. and Idenix Pharmaceuticals Inc. and previously served as a director of MedImmune, Inc. and Middlebrook Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
  • Dr. William E. Kirwan, chancellor of the University System of Maryland since August 1, 2002, is a nationally recognized authority on critical issues shaping the higher education landscape. He served as president of Ohio State University for four years (1998-2002) and president of the University of Maryland, College Park for 10 years (1988-1998). Prior to his presidency, he was a member of the University of Maryland faculty for 24 years. A respected academic leader, Dr. Kirwan chairs the National Research Council Board of Higher Education and Workforce and co-chairs the Knight Commission on Intercollegiate Athletics. He also serves on the Business-Higher Education Forum. In Maryland, Dr. Kirwan is a member of the boards of the Maryland Chamber of Commerce, Greater Baltimore Committee, Economic Alliance of Greater Baltimore, and the Maryland Business Roundtable for Education.

The Lifetime Achievement Gala will take place on Thursday, February 19, from 6 p.m. to 9 p.m., at the Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center (5701 Marinelli Road, North Bethesda, MD 20852).  For more information on sponsorships or to purchase tickets, please contact Wendy Dudrow.


The Tech Council of Maryland (TCM) is the largest technology trade group serving the advanced technology and biotechnology communities of Maryland. TCM’s mission is to advocate for the interests of the technology community, further the role of technology in the Maryland economy, and nurture an environment where technology companies can collaborate, grow and succeed. For more information, visit